AFP cancels birthday party to focus on typhoon relief operations – Manila bulletin

The Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP) did not continue the celebration of their 86th founding anniversary scheduled for Tuesday, December 21 to prioritize their humanitarian assistance and disaster response (HADR) operations in areas affected by Typhoon “Odette”.

Lieutenant-General Andres Centino, Chief of Staff of the Armed Forces of the Philippines, speaks at the recognition ceremony for outstanding military offices, units and personnel on the occasion of the 86th anniversary of the founding of AFP on December 21, 2021 at Camp Aguinaldo, Quezon City. (Courtesy of the Armed Forces of the Philippines)

Lieutenant-General Andres Centino, AFP Chief of Staff, ordered the postponement of the anniversary program itself, the parade of ground troops and equipment, and the overflight of air assets at the headquarters of Camp Aguinaldo, Quezon City in solidarity with the Filipinos affected by the typhoon.

“The Armed Forces of the Philippines are celebrating their 86th anniversary with all Filipinos in our hearts and minds. In these difficult times, caused by the devastation of Typhoon Odette and the persistent pandemic, we will renounce the AFP anniversary program, the parade and the flyby in solidarity and sympathy with our kababayans and in order not to disrupt our ongoing humanitarian action. . disaster relief and response operations, ”Centino said.

“We will celebrate while doing our work on the ground. This is how we will honor our long history of service and our tradition of sacrifice to the Filipino people. We may not be able to fully alleviate the suffering of families and those affected, but at least we hope to give them a sense of comfort and security in these uncertain times and over the next vacation, ”he added. .

The AFP chief also expressed his gratitude to all AFP staff for their hard work and sacrifices. He then led the allocation of AFP offices, units and staff who excelled in their respective fields.

“Despite this, we will not fail to recognize every soldier, sailor, aviator and navy who risked their lives in fulfilling our mandate to protect the people and secure the state. Our warmest greetings go to those in the countryside, to those managing the COVID-19 isolation and treatment facilities, and to those involved in disaster response operations, ”Centino said.

The individual recipients were Sgt. Benedicto Maisa, Enlisted Personnel of the Year for “contributing to the surrender of high-value members of the Communist Terrorist Group (CTG)” under the 28th Infantry Battalion; Dr. Ma Gemma V. Tapnio, Civilian Human Resources Model Supervisor of the Year for developing the vaccination plan for the Emilio Aguinaldo Camp General Station Hospital (CGEASH); and Mr. John Joseph L. Latoga, the Model Civilian Human Resources Employee of the Year for the development of various military systems and programs through the 950th Communications, Engineering and Information Services Group of the ‘AFP.

The C / Lt. Col. Jerome Andrew A Manlangit, of First City Providential College, and C / Col. Sophie R Rordrigazo of Siliman University as the Male and Female Reserve Officer Training Corps (ROTC) Cadet of the Year.

Campaign banners were also handed over to AFP operational units which helped dismantle the guerrilla fronts of communist terrorist groups.

These include the 902nd Infantry Brigade and the 83rd Infantry Battalion for the dismantling of Komiteng Sangay sa Platun from the regional party committee of Bicol; the 801st Infantry Brigade and the 87th Infantry Battalion for defeating the Central Front Samar 1 and the Front Committee 6; and the 802nd Infantry Brigade and the 78th Infantry Battalion for defeating the Southeast Front Committee, all in the Eastern Visayas.

Finally, the 1003rd Infantry Brigade and the 27th Infantry Battalion were also awarded for the dismantling of Guerilla Front 55 of the Southern Mindanao Regional Committee.

Meanwhile, the partner-stakeholders who received the Kapayapaan plaque were businessman Manny V. Pangilinan, chairman of the Philippine Air Force Multi-Sector Governance Council; Lieutenant-Colonel Darwin Sacramed (retired), provincial administrator of Cagayan; Dr Ricman Aquino, president of Isabela State University; the governor of Batangas, Hermilando Mandanas; Hon. Joselito Ayala, Mayor of Quezon, Palawan; Flosemer Chris Gonzales, Deputy Regional State Attorney for the Western Visayas;

Agusan del Sur Gov. Santiago Cane Jr.; Sultan Kudarat Gov. Suharto Tan Mangudadatu Al Hadj; Brylle Deeiah Tumarong, President of the Youth Movement for Peace and Development; Dr Benjamin SA Campomanes Jr. Medical Director at St. Luke Hospital, Quezon City; Cesar Canama Soriano, journalist on the PTV4 program; the Deputy Secretary of the Ministry of Health, Myrna Cabotaje, President of the National Center for COVID-19 Vaccination Operations; SOAR Deployable Response Group; and the Ministry of Public Works and Roads (DPWH).

AFP units and offices were also recognized for advancing the process of institutionalizing AFP’s transformation roadmap, which “contributes to the achievement of initiatives, recognizes milestones, encourages performance and communicates the characteristics of the success of their transformation strategies ”.

The “Competency Status” was awarded to the AFP Accounting Center and the Office of the Judge Advocate General. Meanwhile, the office of the deputy chief of staff, the office of the deputy chief of staff, the office of the deputy chief of staff for operations, the office of the deputy chief of staff for financial management, the AFP Center for Law of armed conflicts and AFP The command center has all been given “institutionalized status”.



Comments are closed.